Six San Diego Wave FC Players Called to National Team Duty

San Diego Wave FC Announces Multi-Year Partnership with AlterG

February 7, 2024 – National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL)San Diego Wave FC News Release

SAN DIEGO – As the FIFA international window approaches, San Diego Wave FC has six players representing their respective countries. Defenders Abby Dahlkemper and Naomi Girma and forward Jaedyn Shaw will join the U.S. Women’s National Team, goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan will join the Canadian Women’s National Team, and Kaitlyn Torpey and Emily van Egmond will join the Matildas.

The USWNT open Group A play on Tuesday, February 20 at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, Calif. against the winner of the Guyana vs. Dominican Republic Preliminary Round match (which will take place on Feb. 17). The US will then face Argentina on Friday, February 23 before finishing the first round against Mexico on Monday, February 26. All of the USA’s games will kick-off at 7:15 p.m. PT / 10:15 p.m. ET. Tickets to all matches, including matches at Snapdragon Stadium, are available here.

Veteran defender Dahlkemper gets her second consecutive USWNT call-up as she returned to the field last season after she recovered from major back surgery to help the Wave win the 2023 NWSL regular season title. Girma, the 2023 NWSL Defender of the Year, was most recently named the 2023 U.S. Women’s Soccer Player of the Year. Shaw, 19, dramatically scored in her hometown of San Diego on Oct. 29, 2023, in a 3-0 USWNT win over Colombia.

Canada will then take on Paraguay on Sunday, Feb. 25 at 2:00 p.m. PT before rounding out the group stage against Costa Rica on Wednesday, Feb. 28 at 3:00 p.m. PT. Sheridan, 28, played in 20 matches (20 starts) for the Wave in 2023 and finished the regular-season with a career-high and league-leading nine clean sheets. On the international level, Sheridan has made 43 appearances (38 starts) for Canada, while earning 21 clean sheets.

Australia will take on world number 47, Uzbekistan, in a two-match home-and-away series on 24 February 2024 at Tashkent’s Milliy Stadium (8.00pm AEDT), before returning to Australia for the final Asian Qualifier on 28 February 2024 at Melbourne’s Marvel Stadium (8.00pm AEDT). The winner of the series will be one of the Asian Football Confederation’s two representatives at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Defender Kaitlyn Torpey and midfielder Emily van Egmond have been named to the CommBank Matildas roster for Round 3 of the Asian Qualifiers for the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Paris 2024. This marks Torpey’s first-ever senior national team…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at OurSports Central National Women's Soccer League NWSL News…