Misc Soccer News

Four Locos Named to USL Championship Team of the Week – Week 10

Locomotive Sign Bence Pavkovics for 2023

May 14, 2024 – United Soccer League Championship (USL)
El Paso Locomotive FC News Release

EL PASO, Texas – The USL Championship named four El Paso Locomotive FC Players to its Week 10 Team of the Week following their impressive displays last week in the 2-0 road win against Loudoun United FC.


The South African put on a stellar performance to guide Locomotive to victory, finding the net 42 seconds after the opening whistle before setting up Eric Calvillo for the eventual game winner.

It was Moshobane’s first goal and assist for El Paso and it was the first time since July 2022 that he recorded a goal and an assist in single match. It was the sixth time he had done so in his career (fourth time in the USL Championship).


The captain midfielder opened his 2024 scoring account by providing Locomotive with the game winner just before the end of the first half. He also had four shots on target, recorded a 96% passing accuracy rate (24/25 passes) and won possession back for Locomotive five times.


Against Loudoun, Akinyode went 8/8 in tackles, 14/14 in duels, recovered possession eight times, made three clearances, blocked two shots and intercepted one attempt. It was a masterclass in stifling offensive play and arguably the strongest performance by any Locomotive player on the night.


The Jamaican international made three big saves against Loudoun to secure his first clean sheet of the year. His save total for 2024 is now 30, joint-third most in the league.

USL Championship Team of the Week – Week 10

GK – Tyler Deric, Memphis 901 FC

D – Aedan Stanley, Indy Eleven

D – Carlos Guzman, Monterey Bay F.C.

D – Adrian Diz Pe, Indy Eleven

M – Eric Calvillo, El Paso Locomotive FC

M – Taylor Davila, Louisville City FC

M – Bolu Akinyode, El Paso Locomotive FC

M – Bruno Lapa, Memphis 901 FC

F – Tumi Moshobane, El Paso Locomotive FC

F – Augustine Williams, Indy Eleven

F – Ray Serrano, Louisville City FC

Coach – Danny Cruz, Louisville City FC

Bench – Jahmali Waite (ELP), Lucas Turci (MEM), Yosuke Hanya (COS), Clay Holstad (RI), Enzo Martinez (BHM), Ben Morris (DET), Tristan Trager (MB)

• Discuss this story on the United Soccer League Championship message board

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at OurSports Central United Soccer League Championship USL News…