NCAA Women

2023 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Awards Announced

2023 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Awards Announced

CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( – Florida State senior midfielder Onyi Echegini and Notre Dame senior defender Eva Gaetino have been voted the 2023 Atlantic Coast Conference Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, by the conference’s head coaches, announced today by the league office. North Carolina sophomore Ally Sentnor was voted Midfielder of the Year, while Clemson senior Halle Mackiewicz was tabbed Goalkeeper of the Year. Florida State forward Jordynn Dudley was named Freshman of the Year and FSU’s Brian Pensky was voted Coach of the Year.

Echegini becomes the fifth Seminole to claim the Offensive Player of the Year award and first since Deyna Castellanos in 2019. The London, England, native leads the ACC with 11 goals, including seven against conference opponents. Named the ACC Offensive Player of the Week twice this season, Echegini has recorded three multi-goal matches, headlined by five goals in her last four matches heading into the postseason.

Gaetino becomes the third player to win Defensive Player of the Year honors twice since the award’s inception in 2004 and just the second to win it in back-to-back seasons (Malia Berkely, Florida State 2019-20). The Dexter, Michigan, native anchored a backline that has posted five clean sheets this season, including two shutouts to end the regular season that helped clinch a bye in the 2023 Ally ACC Women’s Soccer Championship. On the offensive end, Gaetino has scored four goals and handed out three assists.

Sentnor becomes the first Tar Heel to earn Midfielder of the Year honors since the award was created in 2014. The Hanson, Massachusetts, native has tallied seven goals on the year, including four against ACC opponents, which is tied for sixth in the conference. Sentnor is also tied for the team lead with four assists and 18 points on the year. Heading into the NCAA Tournament, the midfielder has scored two goals in her last two matches.

Mackiewicz becomes the first Tiger to earn Goalkeeper of the Year honors since the award was created in 2022. The Broomfield, Colorado, native currently leads the country with her program-record 13 clean sheets on the year, headlined by a league-best six shutouts against league opponents. Mackiewicz also leads the ACC with a .485 goals-against average and ranks second with an .855 save…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Atlantic Coast Conference…